• April 18, 2018 Written By: Alison Watson

Delmar, Delaware- Max Blair captures night one of the inaugural RUSH Crate Late Model “Battle of the Bay” Speedweek event at Delaware International Speedway with the luck of his newborn son. “This is our first-time racing in Delaware and we brought a lot of family. This is the first race my son has been to, being born in January.”
The victory pocketed the Centerville, Pennsylvania native $2,000 and a strong start to contend for the $3,000 “Battle of the Bay” point fund over the next three events (Georgetown, Potomac, and Winchester).
Blair took the early lead from John Waters, who was awarded the pole starting position after winning the K&N Dash, with Amanda Whaley in hot pursuit.
By lap eight the leaders began lapping the field, with Super Late Model hot-shoe, Ross Robinson and Waters creatively splitting the lap cars to keep pace with Blair and Whaley.
A single-car caution directly in-front of the leaders on lap 13 allowed for the first restart of the event.
Blair felt the pressure with Ross Robinson charging to the bottom of Amanda Whaley and Austin Hubbard gaining significant momentum on the top, as the three went three-wide coming out of turn two for the second position.
Hubbard secured the second position, with Blair extending a comfortable lead.
With two laps remaining, the leaders hit heavy lap traffic, with Robinson closing in on the bumper of Hubbard.
Blair would remain unchallenged, taking his first checkered flag in the First State. Crate Late Model moonlighters, Austin Hubbard, Ross Robinson, and Amanda Whaley finished third through fourth, respectively. RUSH Crate Late Model regular and two-time 2018 winner, Logan Roberson completed the top five.
In Victory Graphics victory lane, the top- three all agreed, “This was a stacked field of crate cars,” said Blair.
Heats were won by John Waters, Amanda Whaley, Matt Hill, Max Blair, and Jason Genco. The K&N Dash was won by John Waters to determine the pole position. The two consolation events were won by Darren Alvey and Adam Ferri.
Interestingly, Canadian, Charlie Sandercock was the FK Rod Ends $100 Fast Qualifier, but failed to stage in time for the first heat race and was penalized to the rear of the heat.
A solid field of cars were on hand for the first night of the four-race series (47), spanning from five states and Canada.
RUSH Crate Late Model Feature Finish: MAX BLAIR, Austin Hubbard, Ross Robinson, Amanda Whaley, Logan Roberson, John Waters, Jason Genco, Matt Hill, Sparky White, Darrell Bossard, Jeremy Wonderling, Brady Wonderling, Joe Warren, Scott Gunn, Jeff Pilkerton, Cody Dawson, J.J. Mazur, Jason Knowles, Charlie Sandercock, Matt Glanden, Adam Ferri, Brandon Sturgis, Charles Shawver, Bill Kessler, Darren Alvey, Trevor Collins  
 Rush Crate Late Model Non-Qualifier Finish: CHUCK BOWIE, Matt Tarbox, Garret Paugh, Christian Schneider, Mike Franklin, Chace Biron, Joe Pete, Robert Smith, Joe Watson
Did Not Qualify: Chuck Bowie, Matt Tarbox, Garret Paugh, Christian Schneider, Mike Franklin, Chace Biron, Joe Pete,Robert Smith, Joe Watson, Mike Wharton, Damian Bidwell, Beamer Guzzardi, Jakob Piper, Richard Harden, Zac Weller, Kelly Putz, Tyler Reed, Jimmy Johnson, Cory Lawler, Bruce Hordusk Jr., Billy Thompson


JAMAICA, VA – The Ultimate Super Late Model Series made their return to Virginia Motor Speedway Saturday April 14th for the annual Aaron’s King of The Commonwealth where the event saw 56 competitors sign in all trying to capture a $20,000 payday. Holding off a final lap challenge from Scott Bloomquist; Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville; Georgia went flag to flag Saturday night at Virginia Motor Speedway to take home a $20,000 payday.
Scott Bloomquist, Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie, and Brandon Overton rounded out the top five finishers.
On the drop of the green flag up the Ultimate Super Late Model feature Jonathan Davenport rocketed from the outside to take the lead from polesitter Scott Bloomquist heading out of turn 2. Once out front Davenport started to put some distance between himself and the battle for second between Bloomquist and Chris Madden.
On lap 39 Madden managed to get by Bloomquist and set out to catch Davenport as they raced through traffic. On lap 42 the driver on the move was Tim McCreadie working his way up from his fifteenth starting position to take 4th from Austin Hubbard.
On lap 50 Madden closed in on Davenport as the two worked traffic. On lap 55 Bloomquist got back by Madden for second as the two raced out of turn 4. With two laps to go Bloomquist had pulled to within striking distance of Davenport. On the final lap Davenport had Bloomquist looking to his outside and as they entered turn 3 Bloomquist tried to sweep the outside only to have the car drift op the track just enough to give Davenport enough advantage to take the $20,000 victory. Scott Bloomquist, Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie, and Brandon Overton rounded out the top five finishers.
Scott Bloomquist set fast time in qualifying with a time of 17.156 seconds to earn the Davis Diesel Service fast qualifier award. Heat race winners included Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Chris Madden, Jason Colvert, Austin Hubbard, and Tyler Millwood. Consolation race winners included Tyler Erb and Tyler Bare.
60 Lap ULTIMATE Feature – 1) Jonathan Davenport [2]; 2) Scott Bloomquist [1]; 3) Chris Madden [3]; 4) Tim McCreadie [15]; 5) Brandon Overton [16]; 6) Austin Hubbard [5]; 7) Greg Satterlee [13]; 8) Jason Covert [4]; 9) Kyle Hardy 10]; 10) Tyler Millwood [6]; 11) Hudson O’Neal [22] ;12) Chris Ferguson [8]; 13) Rick Eckert [7]; 14) Tyler Bare [20]; 15) Mason Zeigler [18]; 16) Bobby Pierce [9]; 17) Jeff Smith [11]; 18) Dennis Franklin [23]; 19) Walker Arthur [21]; 20) Andy Anderson [12]; 21) GR Smith [17]; 22) Tyler Erb [19]; 23) Zack Mitchell [24]; 24) Ross Bailes [14]
Car Count: 56